About Us

Region 26 was established in 1971 for the purpose of 911 communications for an eight county area and developed into an emergency management region as well. The counties that make up the Region 26 coverage area are Thomas, Blaine, Loup, Garfield, Wheeler, Greeley, Valley, and Sherman in central Nebraska. The dispatch communications center has been upgraded to a fully Enhanced 911 Center which has the ability to map both landline and cellular 911 calls.

In April 2010 Region 26 launched the CodeRED warning system for residents and businesses to receive messages by landline telephone and cellular telephone on severe weather and alert notices free of charge. To sign up, go to the home page and click on the CodeRED box. Anyone can register what type of weather notices they want to receive (tornado, severe thunderstorm or flooding) and the calls will be generated off the National Weather Service warning. This will also create a database for Region 26 to send out recorded messages of other warnings that would need to be released to the public such as an evacuation or shelter-in-place type of situation.

Director/Emergency Manager:
Alma Beland

Emergency Management & Administrative Office
Deputy Emergency Manager:

Linda Lewis

Office Manager:
Ann Wurst

Dispatch Communications
Chief Dispatchers:
Donna Steckel
Virginia Michalski



Staff: Ann, Alma, Kristen, Libby, Caitlyn, Linda, Donna
Craig, Bailey and Virginia

Copyright 2010 Region 26 - 402 4th Street, Taylor, NE 68879 - 308-942-3461 (Office) - 308-942-3435 (Dispatch)